FISA Examinations

In 2011 FISA introduced the professional designation Fiduciary Practitioner of South Africa (FPSA®) which is fast becoming the yardstick for knowledge and integrity in the fiduciary industry. Members who passed an annual professional examination in the past (2011 – 2017) were allowed to apply to FISA to be awarded the FPSA® designation. After the examination sessions in September and November 2017, these examinations will be discontinued.

The School of Financial Planning Law (SFPL) at the University of the Free State introduced the Advanced Diploma in Estate and Trust Administration in 2015. As from 2018 anyone who wants to apply to be awarded the FPSA® designation must first register for and successfully complete the diploma.

As the FPSA® designation is proprietary to FISA it is only awarded to FISA members. FISA Members must have at least three years of practical experience in the fiduciary field and must comply with ethical requirements to apply to FISA for the FPSA® designation to be awarded to them.

2018 Diploma Information

Registrations to enter the Advanced Diploma in Estate and Trust Administration in 2018 will open early in 2018.

2017 Examination Information

Click here for more information.

Past Examinations




  • Examination Guidelines: Wills Consultation and Drafting – Download PDF
  • Examination Guidelines: Trust Administration – Download PDF
  • Examination Guidelines: Ethics – Download PDF
  • Examination Guidelines: Estate Planning – Download PDF
  • Examination Guidelines: Administration of Deceased Estates – Download PDF