FISA Examinations

FISA introduced an annual professional examination in 2011 which is fast becoming the yardstick for knowledge and integrity in the fiduciary industry. Members who pass this examination may apply to FISA to be awarded the professional designation Fiduciary Practitioner of South Africa (FPSA®). Members must have at least three years of practical experience in the fiduciary field and must comply with ethical and propriety requirements to apply for the FPSA® designation.

To enter the examination, a candidate must hold an appropriate NQF6 rated qualification.

The examination is administered by the School of Financial Planning Law (SFPL) at the University of the Free State, on behalf of FISA.

The SFPL has also introduced the Advanced Diploma in Estate and Trust Administration. Successful candidates are exempt from the professional examination and can apply to be awarded the FPSA® designation on condition that they are or apply to become FISA members.

2017 Examination Information

Click here for more information and to register.

Past Examinations




  • Examination Guidelines: Wills Consultation and Drafting – Download PDF
  • Examination Guidelines: Trust Administration – Download PDF
  • Examination Guidelines: Ethics – Download PDF
  • Examination Guidelines: Estate Planning – Download PDF
  • Examination Guidelines: Administration of Deceased Estates – Download PDF