Posted on

FISA AGM held – new council constituted

Dr Eben Nel (PSG Wealth, Port Elizabeth, and Eastern Cape regional councillor) was elected new FISA chairperson, and Ms Angélique Visser (Baraza Wealth, Johannesburg, and nationally elected councillor) was elected new FISA vice-chairperson at the FISA annual general meeting on 27 March 2018 in Cape Town.  The previous chairperson, Ms Ronel Williams (Nedbank Wealth, Cape Town) came to the end of her three-year term as chairperson.  The FISA constitution limits the terms of office of the chairperson and vice-chairperson to a maximum of three consecutive years.

The rest of the new council are:

Mr Ian Brink (Crest Trust, Pretoria) – regional councillor, Northern Region;

Mr Colin Hickling (The Public Trustee and Trust Corporation, Bloemfontein) – regional councillor, Central Region;

Ms Cheryl Howard (Talaria Wealth, Johannesburg) – regional councillor, Gauteng Region;

Ms Shayne Ramdhani (Sanlam Trust, Durban) – regional councillor, KwaZulu-Natal Region;

Mr Aaron Roup (FISA secretary) – nationally elected councillor;

Mr Louis van Vuren (FISA CEO);

Mr Ryno Venter (Capitor, Cape Town) – regional councillor, Western Cape Region;

Ms Ronel Williams (Nedbank Wealth, Cape Town) – nationally elected councillor.

At the AGM the FISA financial accounts for 2017 were approved.  FISA reported income of R2,695,587 and expenses of R2,383,391, leading to a surplus of R312,196 for the year.  This surplus was added to FISA’s reserve funds to improve the Institute’s financial stability.  Members requiring a copy of the financial accounts can request same from [email protected]

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *