You are here: Home » Latest News » News » Press Releases » The FISA Chairperson’s Award

The FISA Chairperson’s Award

At the 9th Annual FISA Conference held at the Sandton Convention Centre on 5 September, the annual FISA Chairperson’s Award was handed to Colin Hickling, Director of The Public Trustee and Trust Corporation.

The award was made in recognition of Mr Hickling’s significant contribution to the fiduciary profession over some 56 years and consists of a trophy and a certificate.

Mr Hickling has been active in the financial and fiduciary services industry since the early 1960s, having joined Bloemfontein Board of Executors and Trust Company Ltd (Bloemboard) in 1963, and having been Managing Director of that entity from 1976 to 1994.

Since 1994 he has managed the family owned The Public Trustee and Trust Corporation (Pty) Ltd in Bloemfontein, an entity undertaking the administration of estates and trusts and the preparation of Wills and trust deeds, and estate planning.

Mr Hickling is a former Council member, Chairman and Honorary member of the Association of Trust Companies . He is also a former Council member and an Honorary member of FISA.

Mr Hickling’s senior private and public sector appointments are too numerous to list in detail. He has held numerous directorships over the years, including as a Director of Midland Board of Executors Limited (Midboard) and alternate Director of Old Mutual Syfrets Trust Limited (OMST).

Mr Hickling was Deputy Chairman of the SABC from 1993 to 1996, Chairman of Sentech Limited from 2004 to 2010, and Chairman of the Highlands Development Corporation from 1993 to 1995. He was also Chairman of the Association of Participation Bond Managers for period ending 1993.

Based in Bloemfontein, Mr Hickling has also been a Councillor on the Bloemfontein City Council, including Mayor from 1985 to 1986. He has been a Council Member of the University of the Free State, and Chairman of the St Andrew’s School (Bloemfontein) Old Boys’ Association as well as its Board of Governors. He is the Founder Chairman of the Bloemfontein Forty One’rs Club and in 1985 was voted Bloemfonteiner of the Year.

from left to right: Dr Eben Nel (FISA Chairperson), Mr Colin Hickling, Ms Angelique Visser (FISA Vice-Chairperson)

More about the FISA Chairperson’s Award

The award is given annually to the person who, in the estimation of the FISA Chairperson and the FISA Council, has made a remarkable and significant contribution to the fiduciary profession.  Nominations are called for in the months leading up to the FISA Conference.  No sitting FISA Councillor or any employee of or contractor to FISA is eligible.

Recent Posts