The Fiduciary Practitioner of South Africa® (FPSA®) designation is the new standard for fiduciary practitioners in South Africa. It is a mark of quality and peace of mind for consumers of fiduciary services in Southern Africa as it indicates that, apart from the qualifications a member holds, he/she has demonstrated the ability to act as a professional in the highly technical fiduciary field. The FPSA® standard will soon be the only accepted standard in the fiduciary industry.

In order to attain the FPSA® designation, the individual has to be a FISA member. As from 2018, anyone who wishes to apply to FISA for the FPSA® designation will first have to enter and successfully complete the distance-based Advanced Diploma in Estate and Trust Administration which has been offered by The School of Financial Planning Law (SFPL) at the University of Free State since 2015.

As the FPSA® designation is proprietary to FISA it is only awarded to FISA members. FISA members must have at least three years of practical experience in the fiduciary field and must comply with ethical requirements to apply to FISA for the FPSA® designation to be awarded to them. Candidate members of FISA may choose to study the Diploma at the SFPL while gaining three years of practical experience in the fiduciary field, following which they must upgrade to full FISA membership.

If you are a FISA member

Please contact the University of Free State for the closing dates for applications for the diploma course.

Apply for the FPSA® designation

If you are a member of the public

An FPSA® will be able to assist with estate and will planning, will drafting, deceased estate administration and trust administration. While many practitioners may claim to have knowledge in these areas, an FPSA® proves it by passing a stringent examination. By using a fiduciary professional with the FPSA® designation, you will know that you are dealing with a person who has demonstrated:

  • Academic knowledge by obtaining a formal qualification and the required level of appropriate experience;
  • The ability to apply the knowledge;
  • A willingness to be bound by the ethical standards of a profession;
  • A commitment to maintain levels of technical knowledge through a continuing professional development (CPD) programme.

To find an FPSA® near you, click here.