Posted on

Press release: FISA Council changes

FISA goes from strength to strength

 During February 2019 and after the annual general meeting of the Fiduciary Institute of Southern Africa (FISA) on 19 March 2019, changes were made to the FISA Council as follows:

  • Ronel Williams was re-elected unopposed for a further three-year term as nationally elected councillor.
  • Rynoe Smith was elected as councillor for the Central Region, replacing Colin Hickling who had served on the Council for six years.
  • Penny du Plessis was elected as councillor for the Gauteng Region, replacing Cheryl Howard who had served on the Council for seven years.
  • Shayne Ramdhani was re-elected as councillor for the KwaZulu-Natal region.

Dr Eben Nel, National Chairperson of FISA, thanked those whose terms had come to an end and welcomed the new councillors, saying: “Councillors’ time is given voluntarily and we deeply appreciate the effort that they make in continuing to grow the organisation and advance the fiduciary profession.”

FISA has a current total of just over 700 members. In 2018 the organisation introduced candidate membership for those with less than three years’ experience in the fiduciary industry.

The ultimate fiduciary designation, that of Fiduciary Practitioner of SA® (FPSA®), is attracting keen interest, with over 200 FISA members now holding the designation.

To apply to FISA for the FPSA® designation, a FISA member needs to have successfully completed the distance-learning Advanced Diploma in Estate and Trust Administration offered by the School of Financial Planning Law at the University of the Free State.


The 10-member council now comprises the following:


Dr Eben Nel, chairperson

Ms Angelique Visser, vice-chairperson

Mr Ian Brink, regional councillor, Northern Region

Mr Rynoe Smith, regional councillor, Central Region

Ms Penny du Plessis, regional councillor, Gauteng Region

Ms Shayne Ramdhani, regional councillor, KwaZulu-Natal Region

Mr Aaron Roup (FISA secretary), nationally elected councillor

Mr Louis van Vuren (FISA CEO)

Mr Ryno Venter, regional councillor, Western Cape Region

Ms Ronel Williams, nationally elected councillor.



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *