FISA Resources

FISA has its origins in the Association of Trust Companies, a prestigious body that was founded in 1932 to represent the interests of trust companies and their clients.

Deceased estates bank processes

Processes for each major bank when reporting a deceased estate for closure of accounts, bonds etc.

Information and documentation from various external sources such as The Chief Master, Financial Institutions, Master of the High Court and SARS.

Court cases

FISA publishes court case hearing summaries pertinent to the fiduciary industry.

FISA Governance

FISA Constitution

In June 2008, FISA was created and a constitution drawn up which extended potential membership to anyone active in the wider fiduciary industry. In 2012, the FISA Constitution was amended to cater for individual membership only, in line with FISA’s intention to create a fiduciary profession.

Code of Ethics

The FISA Code of Ethics is based on two broad principles, i.e. integrity and diligence, and include requirements such as honesty, fairness, objectivity, independence of thought and behaviour, dealing with conflicts of interest, knowledge, competence, confidentiality and personal financial stability.

CPD Compliance

FISA members must comply with continuing professional development (CPD) requirements to keep their knowledge up to date.

Membership Regulations

The rights and obligations of FISA members and the process to become a member or for membership to cease are regulated by the Membership Regulations.

Disciplinary Regulations

FISA has a disciplinary committee which applies its Disciplinary Regulations, and penalties which could be imposed range from an admonishment to a life ban on membership.


FISA comments on the Draft Taxation Laws Amendment Bill, 2016.

Professional Standards Regulations

The Professional Standards Regulations provide for a professional standards committee to ensure that FISA applies appropriate professional standards through the requirements of the FISA Constitution, Code of Ethics, and Regulations.

Regulations for Regional Committees

Each of FISA’s five regions, Central, Eastern Cape, Gauteng, KwaZulu-Natal, and Western Cape, is governed by a regional committee in accordance with the Regulations for Regional Committees.

Guidelines for using the FPSA® mark

Read through the guidelines for using the FPSA® mark.