You are here: Home » Latest News » News » New FISA chair and vice-chair elected

New FISA chair and vice-chair elected

The FISA council’s term of office comes to an end each year at the annual general meeting (AGM) and the new council is constituted directly after that.  At the first meeting of the new council on 20 March 2021, Mr Ian Brink was elected as chairperson of FISA for the next two years.  He replaces Dr Eben Nel, who came to the end of his term as chairperson after having filled the position for three years.  Ms Penny du Plessis was elected new vice-chairperson in the place of Ms Angélique Visser, who also came to the end of her term after having served three years.

The FISA Constitution provides in paragraph 15 that one of the three nationally elected councillors retires every year, but is eligible for re-election.  As no other nominations were received after the vacancy was advertised as required by the constitution, Mr Aaron Roup was re-elected unopposed for a further three year term.

Under the Regulations for Regional Committees of FISA, three of the six regions must elected new regional committees every year, serving for a two year term.  In 2021 the Gauteng Region, the Central Region, and the KwaZulu-Natal Region held regional committee elections.  The elected chairperson joins council as a regional councillor.  At election meetings held during February 2021, the following persons were elected in the regions:

Central Region

Chairperson:  Mr Rynoe Smith

Vice-Chairperon: Ms Lizette du Plessis

Gauteng Region

Chairperson: Ms Penny du Plessis

Vice-Chairperson: Ms Hanna Marais

KwaZulu-Natal Region

Chairperson: Ms Carmen Venter

Vice-Chairperson: Mr Muhammed Jagot


Recent Posts